AME Award


Anne Marie Ernsberger was an exemplary vascular technologist who was tragically killed during an automobile accident while on call in July of 1994. She made contributions to vascular technology through research, leadership, education and promotion of her field as a whole. In her honor, the Anne Marie Ernsberger Award will be awarded to a NWVT member who emulates the dedication to vascular technology Anne Marie did.

The award recipient is an individual who has displayed a passion and dedication to further the field of vascular ultrasound. If you know someone deserving, please nominate them for the Anne Marie Ernsberger Award. 

More information is listed below. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing your nominations.

Click this link to watch the video about Ann Marie Ernsberger.


  • Applicants for the Anne Marie Ernsberger Award must meet the following eligibility requirements:
  • Applicant must be a member of Northwest Vascular Technologists
  • Applicant must be a Registered Vascular Technologist

Selection Criteria

The recipient of the Anne Marie Ernsberger Award will be awarded to a current member who has made outstanding contributions to Northwest Vascular Technologists or the vascular technology profession as a whole through any means including but not limited to education (traditional or non-traditional), scientific research, leadership, creative endeavor or outstanding achievement promoting vascular technology.

How To apply

Please visit the AME Award Nomination page explaining why you or another person should receive the Anne Marie Ernsberger Award. Submissions are welcomed anytime, but soon is better as it takes weeks to decide on the recipient and prepare the award. 

Selection Process

The NWVT committee will select the top three applicants. The Anne Marie Ernsberger Award recipient will be voted upon 3 weeks prior to the Annual Conference. 

Award Recipients
2023 AME Award Recipient: Steve Knight BSc., RVT, RDCS, RDMS, FSVU
2022 AME Award Recipient: Watson B. Smith, BA, RDMS, RVT
2021 AME Award Recipient: Bridget Mraz, BS, RDMS, RVT
2020 AME Award Recipient: Leni Karr, BS, RVT
2019 AME Award Recipient: Chris Caster, BS, RVT
2018 AME Award Recipient: Sara Skjonsberg BS, RVT, RPhS
2017 AME Award Recipient: Krislynn Barnhart, BS, NVS, RVT
2016 AME Award Recipient: Michelle Sentman, BS, RVT
2015 AME Award Recipient: Kari Campbell, BS, RVT
2014 AME Award Recipient: Bonnie Brown, BS, RVT
2013 AME Award Recipient: Colleen Douville, BA, RVT
2012 AME Award Recipient: Jill Sommerset, BS, RVT